

To: Council of Governors

From: Mark Lam, Trust Chair

Author: Norbert Lieckfeldt, Corporate Governance Manager

Date: 21 January 2021

Subject: Council Committee Membership

1.0 Purpose of the Report

- 1.1 To update the Council on changes to the membership of the three Council Committees
 - Communications and Engagement Committee
 - Nominations and Conduct Committee
 - Significant Business Committee

2.0 Background

2.1 The membership of all Council Committees is determined by the Council. Should there be more candidates than vacancies for Committee membership, the Council will determine the successful candidate(s) through a ballot.

3.0 Committee Membership

3.1 Communications and Engagement Committee

- 3.1.1 The Communication and Engagement Committee has a core membership of at least eight Governors. There are no further restrictions on its membership; all Governors are entitled to attend meetings of the Committee.
- 3.1.2 Following self-nomination at the most recent Council meeting on 14 November 2021, the Committee core membership therefore is (new members *in italics*)
 - Dawn Allen, Bedford Borough Governor
 - Joseph Croft, Staff Governor
 - · Caroline Diehl, Hackney Governor
 - Mark Dunne, Staff Governor
 - Carol Ann Leatherby, Newham Governor
 - Beverley Morris, Hackney Governor
 - Jamu Patel, Luton Governor
 - Felicity Stocker, Bedford Borough Governor
 - Ernell Diana Watson, Newham Governor
 - Keith Williams, Luton Governor

3.2 Nominations and Conduct Committee

3.2.1 The Nominations and Conduct Committee had two vacancies, following the standing down of Zara Hosany and Neil Wilson following completion of their three terms of office in post. In line with the Committee's terms of reference, one of these vacancies had to be an Appointed Governor.

Following self-nomination at the most recent Council meeting on 14 November 2020, the Committee membership therefore is (new members *in italic*)

- Mark Lam, Trust Chair (ex officio, Committee Chair)
- Eileen Taylor, Trust Vice-Chair (ex officio as Vice-Chair)
- Roshan Ansari, Public Governor Tower Hamlets
- Katherine Corbett, Staff Governor
- Caroline Diehl, Public Governor Hackney
- Susan Fajana-Thomas, Appointed Governor LB of Hackney
- Caroline Ogunsola, Staff Governor (ex officio as Lead Governor)
- Jamu Patel, Public Governor Luton
- Keith Williams, Public Governor Luton

3.3 Significant Business Committee

- 3.3.1 The Significant Business Committee had two vacancies, following the resignation of Dawn Allen from the Committee, and Daniel Victorio's end of term as Governor. According to its Terms of Reference, there were therefore two vacancies for Public Governors on the Committee.
- 3.3.2 Following self-nominations at the most recent Council meeting on 14 November 2021, the Committee membership therefore is (new members *in italic*)
 - Rehana Ameer, Appointed Governor City of London
 - John Bennett, Public Governor Tower Hamlets (Chair)
 - Robin Bonner, Staff Governor
 - Adam Forman, Public Governor Hackney
 - Arif Hoque, Tower Hamlets Governor
 - Suzana Stefanic, Public Governor Central Bedfordshire
 - Ernell Watson, Public Governor Newham
 - Keith Williams (ex officio as Deputy Lead Governor)

4. Recommendations

- 4.1 As the number of eligible nominations matched the number of vacancies, no ballots were required.
- 4.2 The Council of Governors is asked to
 - RECEIVE and NOTE the report, and to
 - RATIFY the new members of its Committees.