

From: Cathy Lilley, Associate Director of Corporate Governance

To: Council of Governors

Date: 14 November 2019

**Subject: Elections Update** 

## 1.0 Purpose of the Report

1.1 To update the Council of Governors on the outcome of the 2019 Governor elections.

## 2.0 Election Timetable

2.1 The election process commenced on 26 July 2019 with the notice of the elections, with the results being declared on 4 October 2019.

## 3.0 Results

3.1 The number of seats per constituency for election and the elected candidates are provided below:

Constituency and Class	Number of seats for election	Number of Candidates	Elected Candidate
Public – Bedford Borough	1	6	Dawn Allen
Public – Central	3	3	Steven Codling
Bedfordshire			Suzana Stefanic
			Mark Underwood
Public - City of London	1	0	-
Public – Hackney	1	4	Kofo David
Public – Newham	2	6	Tee Fabikun
			Aidan White
Public – Tower Hamlets	2	5	John Bennett
			Terry Cowley
			Arif Hoque
Staff	2	5	Robin Bonner
			Joseph Croft

- 3.2 As there were three candidates for the three vacancies in the Central Bedfordshire constituency, **Steven Codling, Suzana Stefanic** and **Mark Underwood** were duly elected unopposed.
- 3.3 There were no nominations for the one vacancy for the City of London Public Governor
- 3.4 A summary of contested seats is attached at appendix 1:

## 4.0 Action Being Requested

4.1 The Council is asked to **RECEIVE** and **NOTE** the report.

Constituency and Class	Results:										
Public – Bedford Borough			Stage	2	Stage	3	Stage	4	Stage	5	
(Total # of votes: 60; Turnout 9.0%)		First Preferenc	Exclusion of ORNITHARI, Do	ra	Exclusion of		Exclusion of		Exclusion of		
	Candidates	es	Andrea		JONES, John		MEAD, Hayden		CROOK, Alison		
	ALLEN, Dawn	12	3	15	4	19	2	21	9	30	Elected
	CROOK, Alison	10	2	12	2	14	1	15	-15 -		
	JONES, John	9	1	10	-10 -		-		-		
	MEAD, Hayden	12		12		12	-12 -		-		
	ORNITHARI, Dora	6	-6 -		-		-		-		
	SHAIKH, Rubina	10		10	3	13	4	17	4	21	
	Non-transferable			0	1	1	5	6	2	8	
	Totals	59		59		59		59		59	
Public - Hackney			Stage	2							
(Total # of votes: 142; Turnout: 8.0%)		First Preference	Exclusion of								
	Candidates	S	EMORDI, E + F	AROOQU	I, Mn						
	DAVID, Kofo	63	6	69 <b>El</b>	ected						
	EMORDI, Edilia	16	-16 -								
	FAROOQUI, M	10	-10 -								
	TAYLOR, Seb	48	16	64							
	Non-transferable		4	4							
	Totals	137		137							

Public – Newham (Total # of votes: 239;									
Turnout: 8.3%)		First Preference	Stage Exclusion of MADDY,		Stage Exclusion of		Stage Exclusion of	4	
	Candidates	S	Maximillian		BHATT, Imra	n Q	KAHAR, Abdul		
	BHATT, Imran Q	26		26	-26 -		-		
	FABIKUN, Tee	63	2	65	3	68	9	77	Elected
	KAHAR, Abdul MADDY,	29		29	7	36	-36 -		
	Maximillian	10	-10 -		-		-		
	ROACH, Trevor	37	4	41	8	49	8	57	
	WHITE, Aidan	64	2	66	5	71	8	79	Elected
	Non-transferable		2	2	3	5	11	16	
	Totals	229		229		229		229	
Public – Tower Hamlets			Charac						
(Total # of votes: 126; Turnout: 7.1%)		First Preferenc	Stage Surplus of	2					
	Candidates	es	BENNETT, Jo	ohn					
	BENNETT, John	43	-12		Elected				
	COWLEY, Terry CURWEN, Adrian	24	6.08	30.08	Elected				
	David	7	3.42	10.42					
	HOQUE, Arif	35		35	Elected				
	THOMPSON, Adrian	13	2.28	15.28					
	Non-transferable		0.22	0.22					
	Totals	122		122					

Chair: Marie Gabriel Chief Executive: Dr Navina Evans

Staff (Total #' of votes: 293; Turnout: 5.4%)	Candidates	First Preferenc es	Stage Exclusion of CHOWDHURY, Johir		Stage Exclusion of WILLIAMSON	3 I, Elaine	е
	<b>BONNER, Robin</b> CHOWDHURY,	89	5	94	13	107	Elected
	Johir	28	-28 -		-		
	CROFT, Joseph	77	4	81	11	92	Elected
	SHAYGAN, Simona WILLIAMSON,	58	7	65	11	76	
	Elaine	41	6	47	-47 -		
	Non-transferable		6	6	12	18	
	Totals	293		293		293	