Joint Staff Committee and Staffside Membership

Trade Unions and Professional Organisations represent and campaign on behalf of all groups of staff employed by the Trust. Regular campaigns are held in support and in defence of public services, improved pay and conditions as well as providing support and specialist advice to individual members.

East London NHS Foundation Trust has a formal recognition agreement with the trade unions and professional organisations listed here:

The Recognition agreement covers three main areas:

  • Negotiation
  • Consultation
  • Information 

Each of the recognised organisations have representatives who meet with Trust managers at the bi-monthly Joint Staff Committee. The representatives who attend this meeting play an important role in influencing decisions and actions affecting all trust employees, service users and visitors.

Staffside representatives sit on the Policies Sub-Committee to ensure that policies are fair and not detrimental to staff.

Recent policies and developments agreed include:

  • Stress Management Policy
  • Policy for Managing Sickness Absence
  • Work - life balance policy
  • Dignity at Work

Local Union Representatives

Staffside Representatives in the Executive Committee

Maureen Brown, Chair, (UNISON)

Shaun Wright, Vice Chair, (RCN)

Mark Dunne, Secretary,


RCN Union

Shaun Wright, Steward,

Nasir-Deen Bello, Steward,

If you would like to join RCN, please follow this link or phone RCN Direct on tel: 0345 772 6100 and choose 'option one – membership'.



Kofi Oppon, Steward,

Thomas Kenah, Branch Secretary,

Anita Seeshaye, Membership Secretary,

Robin Bonner, Workplace Contact,

Dusswani Chutto, Steward,

Linda Tyler, Steward,

Frank Mensah, Steward,

Abiola Cole, Steward,

If you want to join UNISON, please fill in this Unison Membership Application Form (can be done electronically) and email it back to

Or post it to: Maureen Brown, Branch Chair UNISON Branch, Wolfson House, 311-315 Green Lanes, London N4 2ES


Luton and Bedfordshire Union Reps

Carla Lewington    RCN                  

Anna Palutikof       RCN

Martin Greig          RCN

Bryan Kvillums      RCN                           



Branch Officers

Julius Antwi, Branch Secretary,


John Peers

Mark Dunne

Ruth Woolhouse

Rafeea Momodu

Joe Finlayson

Shafina Mansor

Please give us a rating for the content or use of our site?

green smiley (good) orange smiley (average) red smiley (poor)