Marie Gabriel CBE (October 2012) Trust Chair

Chair of NHS East London and the City from March 2011 to March 2012 and then Chair of North East London and the City until October 2012

Chair of NHS Newham from 2003-2011, previously Vice Chair of Newham University Hospital Trust
Chair of Newham Community Health Council
Over 20 years in senior roles within local government and the Third Sector
Runs her own consultancy company specialising in action research, the delivery of regeneration projects and developing the not for profit sector
Recognised by London Borough of Newham in 2010: awarded Honorary Freedom of the Borough.
Recognised on the Health Service Journal’s inaugural 'Inspirational Women' list.

Qualifications: BA (Hons) DMS

Ken Batty (Appointed to the Trust Board in October 2016)

Ken is a lay member of the Speaker’s Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.
He is in the top 30 of LGBT+ public sector leads 2018.
Ken runs his own company providing HR consultancy to companies. 
He worked for 30 years in the technology sector – at IBM and at Lenovo.  At Lenovo he ran the Human Resources service in Europe, Middle East and Africa; and then in Asia Pacific.
He was one of the founders of the Albert Kennedy Trust, the UK’s LGBT Youth Homelessness Charity. 
In 2015 he was very proud to be on the Financial Times list of the global top 100 most influential LGBT people in business.

Qualifications: BA (Hons)

Mary Elford (Appointed to the Trust Board in February 2012) Vice Chair

Non-Executive Director Queen Mary Bioenterprises (from March 2014)
Non-Executive Director Health Education England (from Sept 2013)
Council member General Pharmaceutical Council (from April 2013)
Non-Executive Director, Barts and the London NHS Trust (10 years)
National Advisory Board for Clinical Excellence Awards (3 years)
Lay Board Member, Camidoc (3 years)
Trustee, The Camden Society for Learning Difficulties (11 years)
Senior Manager, John Lewis Partnership (14 years)
Lay Adviser, Department of Health and Kings Fund (4 years)
Steering Group Member, King's Fund Board Leadership Programme
Council Member, Queen Mary, University of London
Foundation Director, London North East Community Foundation (2 years)
Experience in healthcare education and healthcare regulation
Mother of two children, one of whom has a learning difficulty.

Qualifications: BA (Hons) Oxford

Jennifer Kay (October 2014) Non-Executive Director

Jenny has had a long and fulfilling career in nursing, combining 15 years in front line clinical roles (culminating in her role as a children’s ward sister at King’s College Hospital) and thereafter 18 years in management, notably as Director of Nursing with Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust (2001 – November 2012)

Jenny also has experience at the Department of Health, and secondments to nursing and quality leadership roles in a strategic health authority (NHS South) and Merton Clinical Commissioning Group

She has experience of delivering a wide range of quality improvements in clinical practice (infection control, skin care, falls prevention for example) as well as supporting the development of clinical staff, notably her work to strengthen the role of the ward sister.

Jenny also has experience of Board level governance, participating in and chairing many committees and of supporting the work of Board level committees as lead Executive Director, including quality and safety, equality and diversity, safeguarding, patient experience, and patient involvement committees.

Qualifications: BA(Hons), RGN, RSCN, MBA

Robert Taylor (October 2013) Non-Executive Director

Former Chief Executive of Kleinwort Benson Bank
Chair of the University for Creative Arts in Kent and Surrey
Board member (formerly Chair) at the Whitechapel Gallery in east London
Non-Executive Director of Truman’s Brewery
Head of Wealth Management & Private Banking Supervision at the Financial Conduct Authority
Investor and adviser to companies involved in virtual data storage, on-line therapies, on-line investment management and multi-media publishing and digital gaming technology
Public speaker at financial services conferences
Outspoken supporter of LGBT career opportunities in the City.

Qualifications: MSJ Columbia University

Aamir Ahmad (November 2018) Non-Executive Director
Founder and CEO of furniture retailer Dwell
Experienced entrepreneur having founded a number of businesses in retail and hospitality
Lloyds TSB Asian Entrepreneur of the Year, 2008
Strategy Consultant with Boston Consulting Group
Senior Group Strategy positions at Laura Ashley and Diageo
Former foster carer with Lambeth and Albert Kennedy Trust working with disadvantaged LGBT teenagers
Qualifications: BSc Hons


Anit Chandarana (Audit Chair) (1 November) Non-Executive Director

Director Business Planning & Strategy (2018 to Present)
Finance Director, Network Rail Infrastructure Projects (2013 to 2018)
Various senior roles at Network Rail Finance Division (2007 – 2013) including Finance Director in the Asset Management Division
Financial Controller, Multiple Foods Ltd (2005 – 2007)
Various finance roles at Shell Oil and J Sainsbury (1993 – 2003)
Non-Executive Director, Permanent Way Institution (2016 to 2018)
Chair of Trustees, Network Rail Pension Scheme (CARE and DC)

Eileen Taylor (1 November 2018) Non-Executive Director

Experienced investment banker with 38 years of experience in global leadership roles based in the UK, US and Asia
Held range of senior roles in Deutsche Bank over 30 years including Global Head of Regulatory Management, CEO of DB UK Bank Ltd, COO of Global Markets Europe, COO of Global Foreign Exchange, and COO of the Institutional Client Group
Served as a Trustee on the Board of the East London Alliance (ELBA) Charity
Served on the Advisory Council of Heart of the City Charity
Chaired the Catalyst Europe Advisory Board and was Co-Chair of the Task Force of Talent Innovation
Formerly Board member of the British Bankers Association (2013 – 2016)
Volunteers with the elderly in her local community